Heading Example

Heading Example

The Faculty of Earth Sciences was established in 1975 by the efforts of Dr. Iranpour Jazani. The first students of the faculty entered the university in September 1976 in three programs: geography, geology, mineralogy and lithology, and two master’s programs in physical geography and environmental studies.

The construction of the faculty building began at the beginning of 1978 at the current location of the faculty and continued until 1981.

The faculty began its internship with three departments of geography, mineralogy-lithology, and geology, with three bachelor’s programs in these fields, and a master’s degree in physical geography with a focus on geomorphology, with 21 faculty members. And soon a master’s program in environmental science was added to its previous programs.

Targeted regional and fundamental research planning and its inclusion in the subject of master’s and doctoral dissertations, with the aim of turning individual postgraduate research into group research work in a wide range of earth sciences is considered in the educational and research agenda of this faculty.

The existence of faculty members and students with different perspectives and various fields of study, including geography, climatology, soil science, hydrology, geophysical studies, and geology has led to a variety of research, and student dissertations in earth sciences. Such a treasure will put a comprehensive approach at the disposal of the society and play a very important role in national and regional planning in the direction of sustainable development of the country.

At present, the faculty is divided into four departments: Physical Geography, Human Geography and Spatial Planning, Mineral and Ground Water Resources, Sedimentary Basins and Petroleum, and GIS and Remote Sensing. As one of the educational and research centers in the field of earth sciences in the country, the faculty has about 50 full-time faculty members and about 900 undergraduate, M.Sc. and PhD students.